RSS

“Vegan Thursdays” gets a makeover

29 Jan

A shout-out to CCV for creating Vegan Thursdays! It’s a great way to ‘play’ or ‘flirt’ (as Alicia Silverstone may say) with the Vegan diet.
But since I am already Vegan, and trying day by day (though struggling quite a bit) to eliminate processed foods from my diet, Vegan Thursdays, meet “Pure” Fridays. Starting tomorrow, I am challenging myself to a whole day of unprocessed eats.
I also want to give a huge shout-out to Raw on $10 a Day (or Less!). It’s an absolutely fabulous blog that posts full-day menus with nutritional info, and the best part is, they are all completely raw and unprocessed as well as cheap. Reading through her menus, I realized how much processed junk I was still consuming, and I know I can do so much better.
Who’s with me?

Note: Because I live in a dorm it’s really hard for me to eat mostly unprocessed foods, so I am allowing myself to eat “just” foods (ie. “just raspberries” etc), dried/ roasted nori wraps, and lightly processed Artisana products (though I will try to eat minimal amounts of nut butters, and absolutely no Sunbutter – a truly dangerous and yummy treat).

Word of the day: aplomb

 
7 Comments

Posted by on January 29, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

7 responses to ““Vegan Thursdays” gets a makeover

  1. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine

    January 29, 2010 at 4:33 am

    I love the Pure Friday idea- I might have to try this too!

     
  2. Chocolate-Covered Katie

    January 29, 2010 at 1:52 pm

    Aww you’re so sweet, Serena :)

     
  3. shannonmarie

    January 29, 2010 at 2:28 pm

    Alicia is really inspiring a lot of “flirts” these days. My mom is actually thinking about trying it.

    I just discovered the Raw on $10 a Day blog, too. It is especially nice to find such a blog in this economy.

     
  4. Kate

    January 29, 2010 at 4:00 pm

    Vegan Thursdays followed by Pure Fridays… Excellent idea! At first you’ll miss the extra sugar, salt, and refined ingredients, but your body will get used to it and you’ll develop a whole new fabulous sense of taste and get to enjoy wholesome foods as they were meant to be consumed!

    Thank you so much for posting the link to “Raw on 10$ a day”, I think I’ve just fallen in love! I can see that blog becoming a bible for me to convert to rawism. It would be easier with a dehydrator though…

    Let me know how your day turns out!

     
  5. Whitney @ Lettuce Love

    January 29, 2010 at 6:07 pm

    Pure Fridays sound like a great idea! I have been trying to remove most of the processed food from my diet recently. I feel so much better when it is not in my life!

     
  6. Sabrina

    January 31, 2010 at 3:01 pm

    I totally understand you on difficulty of eating fresh as I stay in a dorm too. Cooking for one is bound to leave lots of leftovers and sometimes canned foods is inevitable.

    Why is Sunbutter dangerous??

    Also thanks for linking the Raw for $10 a day blog. It’s a great discovery! Thanks for visiting my blog too :D Have a great week ahead!

     
  7. Lisa is Raw on $10 a Day (or Less!)

    February 17, 2010 at 2:18 am

    Thank you for such a nice shout out. I’m just loving your blog.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

