RSS

A Love Affair

01 Apr

I’ve never really liked cinnamon. In chocolate brownies I find their taste overpowering (and it takes away from the chocolatey goodness!) In oatmeal, I’ve always been ambivalent, and I find things like cinnamon buns too dry and cloying for my taste…

So, though cinnamon covered apples kept popping up in various food blogs that I follow, I’ve never thought to emulate it. Until a few days ago, that is. ;)
omggg

Oh my goodness! What was I waiting for?

The cinnamon enhances the apple’s flavor, adding a spicy sweet tang. I devoured a gala apple (unfortunately quite mealy) with heaps of cinnamon on top and I’m pleased to say the cinnamon salvaged the otherwise inedible apple. After the first, I wanted more, so I picked a fuji (good choice! crisp, tasty) and  I poured my mom’s mixture of Maca, buckwheat granola, and Mesquite powder over the apples and added a drizzle of tahini. It was perfection. :)

Lately I’ve started to come up with a large “menu” for myself on Word. It has healthy snack, lunch, breakfast and dinner options to remind me of all the tasty, healthy things I love to eat. ;) It makes it so much easier for me to pick what I’m going to eat (sometimes I forget haha) and is especially useful when I’m in a rush. It’s very basic now but I hope to transfer many of those “recipes” online. Stay tuned. ;)

 
11 Comments

Posted by on April 1, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

11 responses to “A Love Affair

  1. Katie

    April 1, 2010 at 10:41 am

    Yay! I hope to see your recipe page soon!

    I love cinnamon! Speaking of which, I need to buy some more today. =)

     
  2. Christine @ Grub, Sweat and Cheers

    April 1, 2010 at 11:35 am

    Oh I love cinnamon anything…I should really infuse the scent through my house daily – would constantly be in my happy place that way!

    Would love to see some of your ideas for snacks…they are always the hardest thing to come up with for me.

     
  3. rustique

    April 1, 2010 at 1:11 pm

    Cinnamon’s my favorite, but I have a tendency to overdo it. Balance is key to really letting it shine!

     
  4. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine

    April 1, 2010 at 4:16 pm

    I love microwaving apples in a splash of almond milk, then adding the cinnamon…the milk is so good to drink at the end! Can’t wait for the recipe collection :)

     
  5. kathleen

    April 1, 2010 at 5:33 pm

    I went bought a fresh jar of cinnamon at the beginning of march. It is now empty. That about sums up how I feel about cinnamon.

     
  6. tatiannalives

    April 1, 2010 at 7:23 pm

    Mmm.. cinnamon on apples all warmed up reminds me of apple pie :)
    <3 Tat

     
  7. Michal

    April 2, 2010 at 10:03 am

    Cinnamon is one of my favorites… scratch that it is my favorite. I will sprinkle it on absolutely anything. I cant wait to see some more recipes ;)

     
  8. actorsdiet

    April 2, 2010 at 8:25 pm

    i always forget the cinnamon. so good.

     
  9. nattietan

    April 3, 2010 at 9:20 pm

    I’ve never been a huge cinnamon fan either but recently, it’s started growing on me. Lol. Then again, apples and cinnamon are almost made for each other in my opinion. Just like… strawberries and cream… brownies and vanilla ice cream.. you get the drift. Hehe.

    Clever idea about what you’re doing on word. I should do that since I always forget the combinations of food I like eating – the ones I don’t eat everyday. x) Can’t wait to see more of your recipes!!

    Nat xoxo

     
  10. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)

    April 4, 2010 at 2:33 pm

    from the last post:
    soft tofu over sago balls drizzled with dark molasses-y syrup. Sarap! Scooped mango chunks

    OMG heaven. Mango and syrup. Wow. Perfect!

    thx for your entries and I hope you use the food processor if you win to make my balls, not babies, I’m a little partial :)

    have a great sunday honey!

     
  11. vivaciousvegan

    April 6, 2010 at 7:53 am

    Lovely post! I am a cinnamon holic and it is so good for you too! I like to enjoy foods that are good for me, and the idea of apples and cinnamon sound scrumptous!!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

