RSS

Mindless Eating

20 Apr

Hey guys! Back from NYC. I had a fantastic weekend that I will blog about soon, but I wanted to get this rant out first. :P

I’m often prone to mindless eating. If I am bored, tired, watching TV, avoiding (studying, etc) then I will eat. It is a coping mechanism, I guess, and sometimes I don’t realize it until I have already eaten my weight in cashew butter, jam and bread….har har… :(

My problem lies in this: once I start eating (say it’s kimchee), I will have a salty/ garlic taste in my mouth…so then I will eat something sweet (say chocolate, dried bananas and a Larabar) to get the taste out of my mouth….then I will feel sickened by the sweetness and eat something salty….yaddah yaddah…the cycle repeats. Problem is, I don’t often realize it until I am too full to keep eating.

Reading various books on mindful eating has been helpful but in times of stress or when I am simply tired I can easily slip back into this pattern. Thankfully, I am pretty tuned into what my body has to tell me, so I never eat enough to make myself physically sick, but I hate the feeling of being uncomfortably full/ sickened by food.

Do you guys ever fall into these patterns?

If so, what do you do to combat it?

 
5 Comments

Posted by on April 20, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

5 responses to “Mindless Eating

  1. tatiannalives

    April 20, 2010 at 6:21 pm

    I can relate to a lot of this.. but not since my eating disorder developed. Prior to my ED, I used to do the exact same salty/sweet thing.. I would have crackers and cheese.. then switch to ice cream… then switch to nuts and it would just go on and on. Maybe you should try to make more complete snacks that incorporate everything to satisfy your cravings.

    Ex.. you could have a bowl of something dessert-y (what is a vegan’s equivalent to yogurt?) with a sweet and savoury twist like crushed pretzels and peanut butter.. It all depends on what you like really, but do you see what I mean? Maybe after a larger, more complete snack, you won’t feel like you want anything else?

    No shame at all though.. I struggle with mindful eating to the -nth degree.. just in the opposite direction these days :)
    <3 Tat

     
  2. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine

    April 20, 2010 at 6:23 pm

    I wish I had a solution to mindless eating, but I’m a victim of this too…I think a LOT of people are. It’s better than struggling with ED, but still annoying. I like Tatianna’s suggestion of a REAL snack…I know when I nibble, I end up eating more and being less satisfied than if I’d just gone for the real thing!

     
  3. Katie

    April 20, 2010 at 7:56 pm

    I try to stay busy and not just sit around all of the time. It really helps. Also, making your other meals of the day satisfying and filling does help too. Don’t play into that whole “chew gum, it suppresses your appetite” BS. It’s a bunch of mumbo-jumbo, if you ask me.

     
  4. Amanda @ . seek .

    April 20, 2010 at 8:31 pm

    I’ve never really struggled with something like this, but I’ve heard that having planned meals and snacks helps take away the mindlessness of eating.

    Also, not denying your cravings and not allowing yourself to get too hungry is important as well.

     
  5. actorsdiet

    April 21, 2010 at 6:58 pm

    i have to end every meal with a sweet candy. even dessert.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

